435 Main Ave S | Renton, WA 98057 | (425) 687-8585
June 2015

6/25/2015 - WIAA Selects Eight for LEAP Class of 2017

6/18/2015 - Media Advisory Committee Meeting Summary

6/18/2015 - WIAA and WOA Agreement Fee Negotiations

6/5/2015 - WIAA Athlete of the Week Winners - WEEK 37

6/5/2015 - WIAA, Washington Army National Guard Announce 2014-15 Scholastic Cup Champions

6/5/2015 - USA Football - Heads Up Football Update

WIAA Selects Eight for LEAP Class of 2017

RENTON, Wash. – Eight incoming juniors from around the state of Washington were recently selected to join the WIAA LEAP (Leadership through Education Activities and Personal development) Committee, the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) announced Thursday.

Committee members represent the voice of over 250,000 student participants in high school and middle school athletics and activities in the state of Washington. The WIAA provides the structure and accountability for students across the state to participate in school athletics and activities and it oversees more than 120 State Championships for those programs.

The eight incoming juniors selected are Megan Drake (South Whidbey High School), Feven Fessehatzion (Lindbergh High School), Michael Larson (Everett High School), Lindsey Lindgren (Oakesdale High School), Drake Mitby (Ocosta High School), Jordan Oakes (Holy Names Academy), Cameron Read (Goldendale High School), and Keithen Shepard (Union High School). The juniors will serve a two-year term and will team up with eight seniors who just finished their first term during the 2014-15 school year.
“The WIAA LEAP Committee has become a priority of the Association to make sure the voice of the students are given an audience,” WIAA Executive Director Mike Colbrese said.
The LEAP Committee, now in its eighth year of serving member schools, is comprised of 16 juniors and seniors (eight juniors; eight seniors) representing each of the six WIAA classifications and the nine districts around the state.  The selected members had to go through an application process, which included three letters of recommendation, a short essay on why athletics and activities are important, and a video personal statement about their school and why they should be selected.
The Committee will meet six times throughout the school year. This group provides direct student feedback to the Association on various initiatives. Meetings consist of guest speakers, leadership exercises, peer discussions, and group projects.
Committee members will attend a retreat in August during the summer before their senior year. The retreat combines physical outdoor adventures and team building exercises, while evaluating the previous year and providing opportunity for goal-setting for the upcoming year.
In addition to attending the six meetings and the retreat, each student is required to write a blog about their school that is highlighted on the WIAA website and social media streams during each year they are on the Committee. The students also plan and implement the Coins for a Cause Fundraiser that raises money for Special Olympics Washington and InvestED at State Basketball and State Football.
Returning to serve their second term are the incoming seniors; Tylor Adcock (Kamiak High School), Sabrina Bozich (Hanford High School), Ali Brandt (Wenatchee High School), Payton Gunhus (Seattle Christian), Chloe Lium (Bothell High School), Lexus Oden (Todd Beamer High School), Isaac Santos (South Kitsap High School), and Peyton Van Pevenage (Davenport High School).
The first meeting for the 16-student committee is scheduled for Sunday, September 6, 2015 at the WIAA office. 

If you would like additional information on any of the LEAP members, please contact Conor Laffey (claffey@wiaa.com).

 LEAP Links:
Committee Members
Past Committee Members
Coins for a Cause
Former LEAP Student Blogs

Sign up for RSS Feed
Washington Interscholastic Activities Association  |   435 Main Ave S   |  Renton, WA 98057  |  (425) 687-8585  |  © 2024